Lately, I’ve been feeling the “life is meaningless” mood, looking around and wondering if this is all there is, and if so, seems kinda pointless, doesn’t it?  So I went to the one place in the Bible where it focuses on this specific theme.  I started at the beginning of Ecclesiastes and just kept going, until I can across this verse (in various translations) in Ecc. 7:14:

When times are good, be happy;
but when times are bad, consider this:
God has made the one as well as the other.
Therefore, no one can discover anything about their future. (NIV)

On a good day, enjoy yourself;
On a bad day, examine your conscience.
God arranges for both kinds of days
So that we won’t take anything for granted. (MSG)

Enjoy prosperity while you can,
but when hard times strike, realize that both come from God.
Remember that nothing is certain in this life. (NLT)

In the day of prosperity be happy,
But in the day of adversity consider–
God has made the one as well as the other
So that man will not discover anything that will be after him. (NASB)

Then I sensed a direction for this year: while not knowing where I’ll be on Dec. 31, 2011, God has challenged me to consider this each day (paraphrasing especially the Message translation): when times are good, enjoy it with God; when times are bad, reflect with God; recognize that both are from God and not to take anything for granted.

Lord, may this be the focus for 2011 and may I remember not to take anything for granted.

