I saw the A-Team (the TV series) as a child.  I remember, back in schoolyard as a grade 2 student, pretending to be the A-team with my friends.  Back then though, I got stuck with being Face (because he just wasn’t that cool of a guy, not compared to Hannibal, Mr. T. and Murdock).  Saw the A-Team in theatres and watched it twice on DVD.  In the movie version, a couple of things stuck with me:

THAT’S A PLAN

Early in the movie, Hannibal says (paraphrasing), “One step ahead is not a plan.  Two or three steps before the move is made, that’s a plan.”  Reminds me, especially in this retreat season, trying to anticipate how things may move, and being ready to respond accordingly.  There may be a monkey wrench.  But if things are thought out, then perhaps all the steps will fall into place (in spite of the monkey wrench).

ADMINISTRATOR VS. OPERATOR

When Face is trying to understand Lynch, he says that Lynch “is an administrator, not an operator”.  Found that intriguing.  Part of me recognizes at times there are those of us who really are better and carrying stuff out instead of trying to be “the big shot” and make things happen.  There are times when we overestimate what our instrumental value really is, and get ourselves into trouble.  Perhaps Paul was on to something when he writes, “For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you.” (Rom. 12:3)

Ah, the A-team.  Even after almost 30 years later, still many life lessons I glean from it 🙂

