Had 3 different experiences this past weekend with 3 different individuals in customer service (I being the customer).

  1. Our son had his birthday party at the movie theatre.  Being in a contained room with 12 other 8-year-olds (or thereabouts) can be a quite daunting task.  Yet our party host, though seemingly young himself, had great control of the room and was able to ensure the party went (relatively) smooth.  Though he wasn’t a big extrovert, he gave a sense of command and calm, which helped me as a parent to remain calm, knowing things were handled.
  2. As I approached the cinema concession stand, the lady behind the cash register looked like she would rather hibernate somewhere for the rest of the day.  She wasn’t rude or anything, but you could tell she just didn’t want to be there.  She went through the motions and did her job.  But while she was doing that, I felt like I didn’t really want to be there as well, that maybe I should just slink away somewhere and not bother with the movie (though that wasn’t going to happen).
  3. At Chuck E Cheese, this one gentleman gave a sense that he was willing to do whatever it took to make our experience a good one.  With words like, “Absolutely” and “I’ll take care of that”, he gave a sense of welcome and hospitality.  Not sure if he would consider this his dream job, but I felt uplifted and well cared for.

So what’s the point of all this?  Fact is, whether we realize it or not, we all play off of each other at some level or another.  We may try to hide it or mask it (some do that better than others), inevitably our attitudes, dispositions and, to some extent, the core of who we are comes out and influences others around us, for better or for worse.  Reminds me that I need to ensure my motives and my attitudes are in check and I’m positively influencing.  Are you?

