I realize that I can’t call the shots on a lot of things. On the economy. On my job (should I be fired or downsized one day). Even my death. I also recognize that, when something ends, part of my personality needs closure, or at least to finish well. (I think that’s part of my fascination with watching TV show finales, because I want to see good closure.)

Recently, I’ve had this thought in my mind: since we can’t always plan a good closure, we can prepare ourselves somewhat mentally for those unexpected endings. One way to do that is through an attitude of gratefulness. In gratefulness, I leave whatever situation on good terms. I don’t carry any baggage from that situation. Rather, I leave with a sense of fulfillment with recognition that it is ultimately a gift of God which could change at any time for a number of reasons. I can take have that attitude when I leave work, when I drop off my family at school or when I say good-bye to my friends after hanging out.

If I can leave every situation in an attitude of gratefulness, I leave with contentment and thanksgiving. That leaves me with at least adequate, if not good closure no matter what might change in the future.

