It’s been said, “It’s not what you know, it’s who you know.” Especially in today’s content-saturated media, that’s more important than ever. With dozens of blogs and websites on every single topic, you can’t assume all the content published is actually true or even appropriate. That’s where trust in the source comes in.

For example, someone suggested a youth ministry website recently. At first inspection, I was skeptical of the site. Frankly, I don’t have time to give a thorough reading of any website. However, once I knew who ran the site, all of a sudden, I trusted the site’s content more.

Conversely, I need to be discerning about what I “endorse”. Whether I like it or not, some people trust my “endorsement” with certain expectations. If I violate that trust by endorsing something which isn’t really that good, then that impacts my “trustability”. Let’s face it, we all know someone who really will endorse anything and as such, do we really take those opinions that seriously?

Who do you trust?

