Today, I had two options for work: I could meet one of our youth pastors at my office for coffee or meet him for lunch at Boston Pizza. I chose the latter. I’m realizing that I feel more at home in a “mobile office” setting than in my own office. For instance, with this lunch meeting also included a 1-hour-each-way commute on the TTC. With some pre-trip planning, here’s what I did:

  • On the bus ride, checked my email and posted some articles via bufferapp.
  • On the first leg of the subway ride, was able to get a seat, whipped out the laptop and did some scheduling (and confirmations).
  • On the second leg, read through a chapter of a book (I seem to be doing more reading lately).
  • Because I got to my lunch appointment 30 min early, I whipped out the laptop to continue working.
  • After the appointment, had a chance to sit outside the restaurant, tap into their wireless and keep working.
  • On the subway ride back, pulled out a piece of paper to plot sketch a rough draft of what my life coaching seminar will look like on Prezi (which I would work on later in the day).
  • On the bus ride home, tidied up my inbox and was able to be present for my family (well, I still need to work on that bit, so it’s my challenge to be more present and less distracted with my phone).

While an office is good at times to do stuff like printing, mailings, etc., I wonder what would my productivity overall look like if I had several locations I could go to in a day and change my setting. Jonah Lehrer mentions this in his book Imagine: How Creativity Works, suggesting that when we change our work environment, we essentially become “outsiders” which helps in the creative process.

I also wonder if this constantly mobile office has something to do with my introvertedness. Because I don’t really need to engage with people I don’t really know in any substantial conversation, I can just focus on what I need to do without being in complete isolation. (Of course, it’s interesting when those “chance” encounters happen with an acquaintance and God’s timing for a specific conversation happens.) It’s not to say I don’t enjoy the company of my colleagues at work. But I wonder if my natural inclination is to have multiple-changing environments that allows me to work on different projects while still being connected electronically.

Maybe I am meant for the road after all.

