Recently, I had a conversation with a friend about some tensions between us. As part of the conversation, I mentioned that I rarely am I shocked by a person’s (mis)conduct anymore. Shamed or saddened? Yes. But not shocked. Part of that is understanding that everyone has sin within them. It’s part of what’s called “total depravity“. Part of it is experiential; I notice that within myself are some thoughts that are really dark which (I’m guessing) others wouldn’t assume I would have. My friend couldn’t fathom this about herself and was offended when I alluded to the fact that there could be those dark corners within her.

There’s one chapter in Lance Witt’s book Replenish where he challenges leaders to realize the dark corners of one’s soul. It’s something that we all don’t want to face. However, whether we like it or not, we need to acknowledge that we all have the capacity to hurt, to manipulate, to molest or even murder. No one is prone to those root thoughts which can lead to such actions. It’s not a comforting thought or awareness. However, as I look at my life, I realize that those extrapolations are possible if I allow certain tendencies unchecked. Unless I am willing to bring those before God and allow his transformation to happen within me (another blog for another day on fleshing that out), I could become a player, a murderer, a rapist. (Really, any one of us can as well.) The key is to check back with God, for him to reveal those inner corners that we tend not to want to look at. Left unchecked, those corners can fester into something very dark and evil.

May God help all of us to see those dark corners and to bring them into his light.

