There’s a tension that I wrestle with regarding evangelism. I’ve heard analogies suggesting that, because Christians have the answer, we are obliged to get the message out as fast as possible. For some, they interpret this as, “I must go out and spread the gospel to as many people as I can and as fast as I can. If they refuse, that’s their problem.”

Many of us realize that, at least in this culture and context, to just tell someone that they are going to hell and need to repent doesn’t usually go well. (Again, there are those who basically say, since they refuse to repent, they can go to hell.) However, many Christians tend express the gospel in a language that makes more sense to non-Christians, wanting to bridge through relationships and to demonstrate the love and grace of God. I must admit at times that I wonder if I’m not “passive” in the evangelism aspect of my life towards my non-Christian friends.

There is an urgency in helping people see the grace, mercy and judgement of God. Yet there is a tension on ensuring we are communicating the gospel well (not just telling it as we think it should be told). Perhaps that’s where dependence on the Holy Spirit is much needed and our attentiveness to his promptings. After all, I don’t think there is a magic formula how evangelism can be done.

