While I’m not affiliated with any political party (I’m willing to consider any ideas from any political ideology as long as they make sense), I am a bit perturbed at what the conservative spectrum is defining as the “ordinary or average” person. Two specific examples that came out recently.

“BLAKE AND LAURIE”

This was the “typical” family the federal government used to illustrate their 2014 budget. What got me was their view that the average family is a dual-income family that earns a combined $120,000 income. It may be that the average household income is $120,o00. However, this is not even close to the scope of many of my peers. I recognize I am somewhere in either the higher-low income or lower-middle income bracket. But if this is the definition of “average citizen” the federal conservatives are using, then it doesn’t look like they really know (or care) about me and “my kind”.

ROB FORD

Rob Ford has stated several times that he’s an “average, ordinary guy”, not like the rich elitists that other politicians represent. The fact is, the way Rob Ford lives, in my opinion, isn’t exactly average or ordinary. (The Globe and Mail has a good article outlining just what kind of financial assets he has.) Frankly, a millionaire (based on inheritance) who drives a Cadillac Escalade, giving his wife a $2000 cash Christmas gift isn’t exactly something my peer group can do.

So who exactly is the “average citizen”? Everyone has their own definition. Maybe I’m not one of them (perhaps I’m below-average). But to those politicians out there who supposedly represent me, don’t try to come across trying to understand or relate to “the little guy” if your view of what’s average seems so skewed.

