Recently, I looked around at simple note-taking systems. There are systems like Evernote, Simplenote and OneNote. All have their advantages/disadvantages. What I needed was something that:

  • would synch well among multiple devices
  • would work while offline
  • could easily be moved to another system
  • would be searchable

This is what’s working for me: GMail. I essentially save them as drafts in my GMail account. Here’s why it works for me:

  • The apps (whether through Chrome or Android) actually imaps ALL my folders including my drafts. I can create different labels to assign those drafts and separate them into manageable folders. It replicates across all my devices almost instantly.
  • Whatever changes I make will be saved. I am work offline, and know when I come back online, my email will synch and my drafts/notes will be updated accordingly.
  • I can move them to another platform if I want. Many platforms allow for someone to email notes into them. If I wanted, I can just email the notes into another system.
  • I can search they as with any email.
  • I don’t have to worry about installing another app on my devices, especially ones that are more resource-draining.

It may not work for everyone, but this system works for me.

