5 things I learned on this past vacation

I was able to take the last few days off. It was a relatively good time off. Five things I learned.

  1. Things will not go according to plan. (I should know this one by now.) Day 1-4 included an inflammed foot which limited my mobility and a lot of what I wanted to do. Whether by choice or force, I had to rest.
  2. I actually rested when I needed to. Rather to push to my next task, I allowed myself to take a nap when needed. It was freeing and, at this point, I do feel rested. Because I felt rested, I wasn’t stress-eating and found myself making better choices.
  3. Creativity often comes from doing nothing. (Someone spoke on this as a TED talk, but I can’t remember who.) I had quite a few brainstorms just pop up sporadically. I jotted them down and let them sit on the backburner.
  4. I was able to put things aside and be fully present with family. Whether it was a YouTube video they wanted to show me, playing some frisbee or just sitting back for one of our 20-min talks, I took time to be present.
  5. One more I forgot to add: I was able to take extended time in reading/listening to God’s word. Specifically, I was able to go through the 4 gospels this week. Even late at night, instead of ending my day with YouTube videos, I could either read or listen to Scripture, and then end with silence. It was a great way to cut out some of the noise from the day.

Now, as I step back into my “normal” routine, let’s see which of these can I incorporate and remember for the long-term.


Leave a comment